HAZWOPER Training Resources

OSHA developed the Hazardous Waste Operations and Emergency Response Standard (HAZWOPER) program to protect the workers working at hazardous sites and devised extensive regulations to ensure their safety and health.

To find out more information about HAZWOPER and OSHA, check out the resource categories below:

  • HAZWOPER Links
  • OSHA Links

HAZWOPER General Info

Hazardous Waste Operations and Emergency Response (HAZWOPER) is a set of guidelines produced and maintained by the Occupational Safety and Health Administration which regulates hazardous waste operations and emergency services in the United States and its territories. With these guidelines, the U.S. government regulates hazardous wastes and dangerous goods from inception to disposal.

The HAZWOPER standard provides employers, emergency response workers, and other workers potentially exposed to hazardous substances information and training criteria to improve workplace safety and health and reduce workplace injuries and illnesses that could occur from exposures to hazardous substances.

Hazardous waste, as defined by the standard, is a waste (or combination of wastes) according to 40 CFR §261.3 or substances defined as hazardous wastes in 49 CFR §171.8.

Mandatory Required Training

The OSHA HAZWOPER Standard (29 CFR Part 1910.120) – requires that all workers that are exposed to or handle hazardous materials:

  • Are required take a 24 hour or 40 hour HAZWOPER Training Course; and
  • An 8hr Annual Refresher Course;
  • At a level required by their job function and responsibility; and
  • Before they are permitted to engage in hazardous waste operations that could expose them to hazardous substances.

All of our courses comply with OSHA regulations. Receive your certification with our 24- or 40-hour course, or renew your HAZWOPER certification with our 8-hour refresher.

Three Levels of HAZWOPER Training

The HAZWOPER regulations contain 3 levels of training for personnel.

  • Emergency Response - 29 CFR 1910.120 (q);
  • General Site Cleanup - 29 CFR 1910.120 (e); and
  • Resource Conservation Recovery Act (RCRA) Treatment, Storage and Disposal Facilities (TSDF) - 29 CFR 1910.120 (p).

Five HAZWOPER Operation Types

The standard describes five operations that fall within the regulation’s scope with three training-types that have unique learning objectives and varying training-hours requirements.

HAZWOPER applies to five groups of employers and their employees. This includes employees who are exposed (or potentially exposed) to hazardous substances (including hazardous waste) and who are engaged in one of the following operations as specified by OSHA 1910.120(a)(1)(i-v) and 1926.65(a)(1)(i-v):

  1. Cleanup operations required by a governmental body (federal, state, local or other) involving hazardous substances conducted at uncontrolled hazardous-waste sites.
  2. Corrective actions involving clean-up operations at sites covered by the Resource Conservation and Recovery Act of 1976 (RCRA) as amended (42 U.S.C. 6901 et seq.).
  3. Voluntary cleanup operations at sites recognized by a federal, state, local, or other governmental body as uncontrolled hazardous-waste sites.
  4. Operations involving hazardous waste which are conducted at treatment, storage and disposal (TSD) facilities regulated by Title 40 of the Code of Federal Regulations, parts 264 and 265 pursuant to the RCRA, or by agencies under agreement with the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency to implement RCRA regulations.
  5. Emergency response operations for releases of, or substantial threats of release of, hazardous substances (regardless of the hazard's location).

The most commonly used manual for HAZWOPER activities is Department of Health and Human Services Publication 85–115, Occupational Safety and Health Guidance Manual for Hazardous Waste Site Activities. Written for government contractors and first responders, the manual lists safety requirements for cleanups and emergency-response operations.



The HAZWOPER standard for the construction industry (29 CFR 1926.65) is identical to 29 CFR 1910.120. For brevity, the HAZWOPER standard is referenced as 29 CFR 1910.120 throughout the remainder of this web page. In limited exceptions, the HAZWOPER standard for construction provides examples or references to other standards for the construction industry that vary from what are provided in the HAZWOPER standard for general industry.

OSHA/Interagency Guidance Documents

For additional resources and information, please reference the Government Agency website directly:

OSHA Federal and State Links

U.S. DOL Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) works to prevent injuries and protect the health of workers.

Chemical Information

MSDS Sites

Nonprofit Organizations and Standards


Safety Professional Organizations

Other Safety Information


Safety and Health Achievement Recognition Program (SHARP)

SHARPThe Safety and Health Achievement Recognition Program (SHARP) is designed to provide incentives and support to employers to develop, implement and continuously improve effective safety and health programs at their worksite. SHARP provides recognition for employers who demonstrate exemplary achievements in workplace safety and health. These companies are exempted from a general scheduled Federal OSHA inspection for one to two years.

How Can My Company Participate In SHARP?

To participate in SHARP, you must:

  • Request a consultation visit that involves a complete hazard identification survey;
  • Involve employees in the consultation process;
  • Correct all hazards identified by the consultant;
  • Implement and maintain a safety and health management system that, at a minimum, addresses OSHA’s 1989 Safety and Health Program Management Guidelines;
  • Lower your company’s Lost-Workday Injury and Illness rate (LWDII) and Total Recordable Case Rate (TRCR) below the national average; and
  • Agree to notify your state Consultation Project Office prior to making any changes in the working conditions or introducing new hazards into the workplace

For more information, visit the OSHA web page for SHARP programs.